Summer Cocktails: Watermelon Crush

by Julie

August announced its presence today in triple digits here in Tucson. Thankfully, one of my favorite hot-weather foods–watermelon!–is reaching its peak in the season. So after dropping off my bicycle at my favorite repair shop in town, I headed home and out of the heat, where I enjoyed the refreshing tastes of one of my new summer loves.

(watermelon, basil, tequila, cocktail jigger & shaker, lemon juice)

(muddled basil)

(watermelon crush)

(2)

Ingredients: about two cups cubed watermelon, one teaspoon fresh lemon juice, 1 oz. of your choice 100% agave tequila, 5-6 leaves fresh basil (+ more for garnish), crushed ice

DIY: Juice the watermelon and lemon juice in a blender. Pour juice into serving glass and set aside. Dice basil and muddle with crushed ice (shown below) in cocktail shaker. Add tequila and shake vigorously. Mix with juice and serve over ice with basil garnish.

(Tip: If the watermelon pulp doesn’t strike your fancy, run the juice through a pulp strainer while pouring into the glass.)

Enjoy!

