Week’s Recap: Some Highlights from this Week’s Recipes

by Julie

Eric and I are heading out to South Carolina this weekend! (And right now, we’re constantly on weather-alert watch for Hurricane Irene’s movements.)

But before we take off, here are a couple of my favorites from this week’s meals:

Monday: Coconut-Carrot Soup

Eric surprised me by cooking this one himself. His was a much-needed gift, because on Monday, I didn’t get home until after 8:00. But the taste and texture of this soup was perfect. Creamy and wonderfully seasoned with lemongrass, kaffir lime leaves, and cayenne, and served with some quick-seared tempeh, I was in heaven.

This is definitely one to come back to again and again.

(i loved the tangy flavor from the kaffir lime and the balanced sweetness between the coconut milk and carrots)

Tuesday: Heather’s Quinoa Recipe

You already heard my praise for this dish’s vegan pesto and parmesan recipe. But look at how beautiful the dish comes together, once all the ingredients are assembled.

(red from the tomatoes, green from the spinach and pesto, white from the tofu, yellow from the corn, brown from the seeds and quinoa. love it.)

Wednesday: Pizza!

Okay, the best part about this night was that we burnt the crust! Seriously. First, I love crust that’s a little singed. Don’t ask me why–I always have. Second, we burnt the crust because we were in the middle of a good “how-was-your-day” talk, and just lost track of time. It happens…

(just a little bit brown around the edges...)

Thursday: Cast-Iron Stir-Fry with Avocado, Basil, and Peanuts

We used cilantro instead of basil in this recipe…our basil plants were looking a wee bit taxed after I prepared the pesto earlier in the week.

(we served our stir-fry over a bed of rice noodles)

Enjoy your weekend, everyone! New recipes coming Monday morning!

