Week Recap: Highlights from the Week’s Recipes

by Julie

Life has officially picked up its pace as we head into fall. That’s why I appreciated all four of this week’s recipes: they were quick, easy, with lots of downtime in-between the bits of activity. I’ll probably utilize and come back to this set in future weeks when I seem to need 30+ hours in a day.

Next week, be prepared for lots of recipes involving apples and pears…we have over 150 pounds of fruit in our kitchen at the moment, ready to be processed.

In the meantime, however, enjoy some photos from this week’s meals.

Monday: Avocado and White Bean Hummus Wraps

We made these wraps after our return from fruit picking. Something about eating with our hands, after a day of harvesting, was extremely satisfying.

(this shows the "clean" picture: before our friends and the two of us devoured the overstuffed--read: falling apart--wraps!)

Tuesday: Grilled Kabobs on Dirty Rice

I cheated a bit on this dish; not having access to a grill, I roasted them in the oven at 350F for 35 minutes. The veggies came out lovely and paired really well with the dirty rice.

(i used eggplant, crookneck squash, red and green bell pepper, onion, and baked tofu in my veggie medley)

Wednesday: Lentil Salad

(lentil salad and shiitake mushrooms over arugula)

Thursday: Cabbage, Walnut, and Rice Salad

You might be able to tell from the photo, but I substituted quinoa for rice in today’s recipe. I thought the nuttiness of the quinoa lent a subtle compliment to the walnuts.

I hope you all have a fantastic weekend, and I’ll be back Monday with a new recipe line-up.

