On Hunger

by Julie

Quick Tofu Saute and Greens

+ {Recipes for the Week of September 10}

 

When I get hungry, I get cranky. I’ve always been this way. The stomach pains set in and I just shut down. It’s funny; even though I know this about myself, I can still refuse to sit down and actually take the time to eat. I’m stressed or rushed at work, I’ve got my list of things to do, and nowhere on that list does it say, “eat.” (For a similar reason, I’m sure, I know some people who literally have to schedule their times to eat. They set a 15-minute warning alarm, then allow for a 10-minute “break” from the day.)

How did we become so busy? When did we begin setting schedules on two, three, maybe even four different programs or machines. (“Sync work calendar with personal calendar with iPhone calendar.”)

What’s even more amusing to me is how wonderful, how instantaneously better I feel about everything as soon as I do allow myself the time of day to prepare a quick meal, to sit down, and to enjoy food. Suddenly that long list of tasks doesn’t look so daunting; those messages on my phone not so overwhelming. Balance restored.

Eric and I came home from the farmer’s market a few weeks back and my stomach was roaring. And I was edgy. Eric’s learned this about me. So we quickly sauteed some cubed tofu, chopped onion, and sliced carrots in a bit of wine vinegar and tamari, added a pound of searing greens to the pan, then put this over a bed of romaine lettuce. We cut thick slices of gluten-free bread and toasted them over the open stove top flame, then drizzled everything with olive oil. A sprinkle of salt and pepper, we sat down to eat, and by the end of the meal, well, I went outside and hung up the laundry before the afternoon rains arrived.

Recipes for the Week

Monday, September 10: Crunchy Bean, Quinoa and Carrot Salad (from Green Kitchen Stories)

Ingredients
1 pound green and yellow beans, trimmed
2 cups quinoa

8 heirloom carrots, sliced thinly
2 spring onions, thinly sliced

1/2 cup raisins
1 cup toasted hazelnuts, coarsely chopped or halved
1/2 cup lingonberries (can be replaced with red or black currants or fresh cranberries)

dressing
4 tablespoons Dijon mustard, preferably coarse grained
3 teaspoons honey
juice from 1 medium sized lemon
3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
4 tablespoons olive oil
sea salt & black pepper

Tuesday, September 11: Arugula, Wild Rice, & Apricot Salad (from Good Things Grow)

Ingredients
2/3 cups wild rice
1 bunch arugula
3-4 fresh apricots (2-3 nectarines or peaches would also work)
1 avocado
1/2 bunch cilantro, roughly chopped
1/3 cup roasted unsalted almonds, roughly chopped

dressing
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
3 tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons raw honey (use sugar if making vegan)
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
salt to taste

Wednesday, September 12: Capellini with Roasted Eggplant & Peppers (from The Yellow House)

Ingredients
for the roasted vegetables:
1 large eggplant, or 3-4 small ones (I had several Japanese eggplants I used), cut into small cubes (1/2-inch to 1-inch)
3-4 bell peppers (mine were an odd light green variety Ben brought home; feel free to use red, green, or anywhere in between), cored, seeded, cut into 1/2-inch strips
6 cloves garlic, unpeeled, barely crushed with the flat of your knife
1-2 tablespoons olive oil
kosher salt

for the garlic oil:
7-8 tablespoons good olive oil
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
generous pinch red pepper flakes; more to taste
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
black pepper
1 pound capellini

Thursday, September 13: White Bean Ragout with G-Free Toast (adapted from Bon Appetit)

Ingredients
3 medium onions, chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil plus more
kosher salt, freshly ground pepper
4 garlic cloves, 3 finely grated, 1 halved
2 teaspoons tomato paste
4–6 1-inch-thick slices grilled or toasted gluten-free bread
8–10 tablespoons nutritional yeast, divided
2 15-ounce cans cannellini (white kidney) beans, rinsed and drained
4 cups vegetable broth, divided
1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
2 tablespoons chopped flat-leaf parsley

